What does locking a conversation do?
This means that no one can respond to your conversation.
A case when you might use this is if you are organizing a group order and want to let everyone know their items have arrived. You will want each person to contact you individually with their address, rather than start a group conversation where everyone can see each other's information.
You cannot lock a conversation after it has been started.